Basset Hounds Forum banner
1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
Smough and Orni
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Everyone,

I need some advice. I have 2 beautiful bassets (2 & 1.5 years old).
Our vet has been adamant about giving them the Purina pro plan, which I have had for the last year; they really seem to enjoy the chicken recipe.
Last weekend we ran out of food, and our closest Petco was closed, so I ran to the grocery store and Target and found "Purina One" and "Purina Dow Chow."
I bought the Purina one, but it got me thinking about the difference between these three brands. From what I can read online, there isn't much difference in the recipe, but I am no expert, and not sure how to read the label and if one or two ingredients can make a huge difference.

I was hoping someone could explain how these three brands are different, or if there is another company you recommend, please let me know. I am recently separated and on a single income, so budget-friendly brands are appreciated. If Purina Pro Plan is the best out there, I am happy to pay the extra buck; I just don't want to overpay if another food is basically the same.

(I'm not sure if this is relevant to the brand/food I decide to buy next, but my two bassets are definitely on the heavier side but not overweight; we control their portions. They are chunky loved boys but get their walk and exercise in.
I hope to get some advice/insight on what food you give your babies. Thank you so much for all the tips!!

·
Registered
13,219 Posts