Basset Hounds Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to Bassets and was wondering what everyone here feeds?How and how often do you do there ears.I clean everyday with a warm wet towel what do you do?

·
Registered
1,309 Posts
welcome! i feed my barney chicken soup for the puppy's soul. i had fed my previous dogs purina and i can really tell the difference in barney's coat and general health. guess it's all about the corn and fillers in the grocery store kind. i hadn't realized that there was such a difference but my retreiver and beagle were always itching. if only i had known. good luck with your basset...have patience and enjoy.:rolleyes:

·
Registered
12,947 Posts
What anyone else feed is immaterial the only thing that is important is how your dog does on a particular dog food. There are many people that love wellness I have tried different formulation etc on three different occassion with different dog and every time I can not think it would be possible to have a worse experience. Does that make welnes a sucky dog food no just not the right one for me and my dogs.

see Dog Foods - Help in making the choice easier
best gernal resource for common sense factual info on feeding dogs

My dogs tend to do better on what I consider medium grade foods. Not the best/priciest stuff (Innova, California Natural, Canidae) but not the really cheap stuff either (Hi-Pro, Dog Chow). Remember price has nothing to do with what might work for your dog. Just because a food is listed in a magazine as their 10 best, doesn't mean its better than another food that isn't listed. They do no testing of the food, they base their opinions on the ingredients. My dogs have not done well on any of those foods. Think for yourself and don't get brainwashed into thinking you are a horrible pet owner if you don't buy these foods for your dog.

it's all about the corn and fillers in the grocery store kind