Basset Hounds Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
1,865 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have no experience with UTIs in dogs, but suspect Spencer may have one. Last night, he peed in my bed - alot! This is so uncharacteristic of him, as he has always let me know when he has to go, even in the middle of the night. The smell of his urine was very strong. Today, he has not gone potty more than normal, but has had a bit more to drink than usual (eating is normal). In addition, he is very lethargic - been sleeping all day. Normally, he is up & about. I have also noticed him licking his penis alot (sorry to be blunt!) My question - is this something that is going to land us at the emergency vet tonight or tomorrow, or will he be ok until Monday? Thanks for any input.
Amy

·
Registered
2,558 Posts
I'd call the vet and see what they say- off the top of my head, it doesn't seem like a good idea to let an infection go for 2 days-

·
Registered
5,249 Posts
I think I'd take him in ASAP.

In my humble and entirely nonmedical opinion, it's good that he's peeing.

The rest, however, I find pretty troubling.

Let us know what's going on when you find out!

·
Registered
1,865 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
We just returned from the vet. Spencer does not have a UTI. The vet did find his penis very red & irritated, but she is not sure from what. She put him on an antibiotic for it & I have to apply some cream to it (fun! :)) She was concerned about his frequent drinking & urination, and also the fact that he has been steadily losing weight despite having a good apetite. Last year at this time he was 6 pounds heavier than now. She said she felt something was going on, but was not sure what. She mentioned a concern about Cushings Disease - said he had some but not all the symptoms. So, I have to take him back Wednesday for a blood test. They couldn't draw blood today, as he had already eaten breakfast.

·
Registered
2,558 Posts