Basset Hounds Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
782 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Franics is now 8 1/2 years old and the vet wants to put him under for teeth cleaning and dental work. What experience has anyone had with this pro and con? Thanks.

·
Registered
33 Posts
I sure wish I could know about this as well. I've never cleaned a dog's teeth--just give her lots of good things to chew on to hopefully take care of the tarter, etc.

Thanks for your good info.
Sandra--Bianca's mom

·
Registered
246 Posts
When speedy was 10 I had to take him to a new vet to have his teeth cleaned. I reminded him that speedy was 10 about 3 times. The vet finally looked at me and said " Look, I understand your concerns but I have been doing this for 30 years and haven't lost one yet." Good enough for me. As it turns out, it isn't as dangerous to put them under for teeth cleaning as it is putting them under to pull a bad tooth with all the infection and stuff. Speedy had a heart murmur so he always got a round of antibiotics to be safe but he always did fine. It seems the danger the older they get only goes up a little, not alot. Hope this helps. Speedster

·
Registered
775 Posts
I had Maggie Mae's (ATB) teeth cleaned for the first and only time when she was 12 years old!!! I was SO scared. Suddenly she stopped eating. Very out of character for her. I finally realized it was her teeth. The Vet said she had tons of tartar buildup and horribled breath :blink: I never brushed her teeth. I had it done and she was fine. Of course, we did all the presurgical bloodwork to make sure she was okay to put under. Turns out her teeth were fine, no extractions but she did have lots of tartar under the gums. She recovered fine and eat like a champ till her last day :) .