Basset Hounds Forum banner

1 - 20 of 40 Posts

·
Registered
209 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So the twins were at the vet last week for there last round of puppy shots. We usually go to a non-proffit vet clinic where they only charge $20 for a visit. This time we did not see the doc b/c it was just for the puppy shots. The vet tech said that she used to work for a holistic vet and that the new thought on Spaying is to wait until the puppy is at least 1 year old, after her first cycle. Something to do with the incresed estrogen levels being good.

Then we were checking out and the lady processing the paperwork said that we should go ahead and schedule the Spay now (They are 16 weeks old). I said that I thought that it was better to wait until after their first cycle, to which she said no. She said that if you wait until a year old that it is very unhealthy due to the increased estrogen levels.

So needless to say we are confussed! Any thoughts?

·
Registered
517 Posts
I'm no expert on this but seems to me that earlier the better for spaying. I think that Soundtrack may have written in on this at one time or another.
In our experience we were adcvised to have Pais spayed at 6 months and were planning to do it over the Christmas holidays when we could be home with her and then our vet clinic cancelled non-emergency surgeries over the holidays -- then wouldnt you know it she went into heat. We then had to wait for another month or so (can't remeber exactly). She got along just fine but I for one did't enjoy the "heat" experience and I am sure she did't either. I don't know but with having two little girls I think I would get it overwith before a heat cycle. I am sure that Bubbad, Soundtrack and Mikey will be able to give you the best advice since they have the most experience with breeding and non breeding.

·
Registered
1,740 Posts