Basset Hounds Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2,558 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I got a call Monday from the head of our local pet therapy organization. We had a request from a mother of 3 autistic boys, ages 6, 8, and 12, to do some home visits. Their home is pretty chaotic and she is realistic in not bringing a pet into the mix, but she would like her boys to learn about animals and how to interact appropriately with them.

We normally visit facilities, so this was an unusual request.And right now I'm doing more nursing home visits than usual because one of the patients I've been visiting for 2 years is very ill. But they live fairly close, so I thought I'd give it a try.

What a great visit! The mom had prepped the kids beforehand, Murray wagged his tail the whole time, and I left all three a "Color Me Murray" basset handout with a photo of Murray attached which the kids loved. Murray had a great time!

I will be taking all the basset holiday cards over for the kids to see at the end of December- I can't wait to tell them about all the different hounds and where they live!

Anyway- Murray has 3 more to visit now!

·
Registered
1,494 Posts
How awesome!!! I'm sure the boys loved Murray and what a great thing for you to do with Murray. I'm sure those little guys will be looking forward to your next visit. I've worked with autistic kids in schools and can't imagine having three autistic boys in one household.

·
Registered
1,271 Posts
What a good boy, Murray! How sweet. I can't imagine having three BOYS in one house, let alone autistic ones! I'm so glad it all worked out. Keep us updated!

·
Registered
1,219 Posts
I just wanted to say I think it is great what you are doing with Murray. Sounds like everyone had a good time and I am sure those boys are looking forward to seeing both of you again. That was really thoughtful of you to make up those little color me Murray pictures.

·
Registered
230 Posts