Basset Hounds Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all! I'm new to basset.net and am very excited about sharing stories and experiences! I was hoping someone might have some suggestions for me.

My Maddie is close to 8 months old, I've had her since she was 10 weeks. She is pretty close to house trained but she can't hold it for very long at all! I understand that puppies don't have full bladder control, etc. But if Maddie had it her way, she would be outside literally every 10 minutes! And I don't care if we were outside 2 minutes ago, I could take her out and she'd piddle again.

Sometimes I wonder if she likes to go outside because she knows there are people out there. (I live in the Denver metro area and there's always someone walking by, no matter what time of day or night and 9 out of 10 people insist on stopping to say hi to her, she IS pretty adorable, so I understand their need!) I was just wondering if anybody had any advice on working with Maddie and developing bladder control. She lets me know when she has to go out by whining, which is fine but I'm literally taking her outside every 20-30 minutes most days! Perhaps at 8 months, this is the longest she can physically hold it? If so, older basset owners: how old is your baby and how long can they old it?

She's been cleared by the vet for a UTI, so I don't think it's anything medically related. Every time we go outside, we go for a short walk and at least one (if not two) lengthy walks each day.

Another thought to share: She would MUCH rather drink water than eat food any day! I know, Bassets are supposed to LOVE to eat. But my girl loooves water. She eats just fine, but she would rather drink 5 bowls of water than eat a bowl of food, it seems. Mind you, I don't give her 5 consecutive bowls of water - lol - just saying!