Basset Hounds Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

· Registered
78 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all. My husband and I have a female basset. Her name is Charlie. She was born on 12/28/2009 and is currently 20 weeks old! I grew up with a basset, Maggie, but she was 1.5 years old when we got her, so this is my first time raising a basset puppy:)

We got Charlie when she was about 10 weeks old and she weighed 6.5 pounds. I always thought she seemed tiny. She is currently 20 weeks and weighs 16.5 pounds. She has gone from gaining half a pound a week, to a pound a week, to a pound and a half a week, and back down to a pound a week. (I think she just finished her rapid growth phase).

I know you can never guess a basset's weight, but I am just curious to see if anyone can tell me if there basset was about that weight at those ages I listed. And if so, how much does your adult basset weigh? The basset I grew up with was on the smaller end, only about 38 pounds. I wonder, at times, if Charlie will even get to that.

I know a lot of factors are involved, but I am just curious to hear about what other basset hound puppies weigh at certain ages. If you could share, that would be great! I posted pictures of Charlie, the most recent being her at 18 weeks!

· Registered
78 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I do like smaller bassets. (Although, really, any basset is impossible NOT to fall in love with!) So, we'll see about Charlie. I am sure she could have some crazy growth spurt or just stay tiny. Hig4s, you are right about it being a lot easier to wash a smaller basset hound. Charlie doesn't care for baths too much, (my previous basset, Maggie, never did either!)

Scully, that is cute that Ninja was born 2 days after Charlie. Is Ninja starting to lose a lot of baby teeth? We have been finding Charlie's teeth all over!

I would say Charlie is pretty evenly proportioned. It's just nice to hear about other bassets!