Basset Hounds Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I have question...I sold a puppy to a family in April. Now two months later they contacted me to return her due to his wife’s allergy to her and all dogs. Am I obligated to give them a refund? Or can I just offer to help find her a good home? I’m a rookie at this dog selling gig. I have two beautiful Bassets who had puppies in February. Not a big time Breeder by any means. Any suggestions would be appreciated!!

·
Registered
2,506 Posts
I sold a puppy to a family in April. Now two months later they contacted me to return her due to his wife’s allergy to her and all dogs. Am I obligated to give them a refund? Or can I just offer to help find her a good home?
A lot would depend on the terms of the Sale Contract. Good breeders always include a clause stating that they will take the puppy back at any stage but don't always make mention of whether or not a refund, ,might be made, and at what percentage. I'd be more than happy to get the puppy back so she doesn't end up in the wrong hands, and become a breeding machine! I don't think after 2 months+, they can expect to receive a full refund, but what I have done with the one occasion when, homing an older puppy from one of our litters, after I decided she wasn't really up to her early promise (and by then, having a litter from the sister of her dam which were way better), that didn't work out. I went to collect her as they'd told me their squaddie son had been kicking a football at her, scaring her to death - I needed her out of there asap. I told them I'd make a refund of the low asking price they'd paid me (being that much older) less a small 'boarding fee' for the time she had to be back with me before finding another home. As it happened, she was back with us for less than a week! They later came at me saying they could have sold her on for more than I'd given them back !!! Lucky escape there.