Basset Hounds Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
52 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Monty is my first Basset i have had alot of dogs like boerbull, boxer, jack russels, foxterriers, but they were all females Monty is also my first male. I would like to know what you guys have personally experienced good or bad about neuturing your dogs? :)

Thanx

·
Registered
1,244 Posts
Growing up I had 2 male dogs and have 1 male now. They have all been neutered. My dog Sparky (ATB) growing up was a humping machine...after neutering was just a little bit of a humper. I'm no expert, but I've heard that it keeps them calmer. I'm sure others could chime in with more insight.

~Heather

·
Registered
775 Posts
I've always gotten male dogs neutered for the health benefit. I don't know if it calms them down. I've heard that's not true??? I've also heard that if they hump after being neutered, it's not a sexual thing, it's a dominance issue. I remember my Maggie Mae's (ATB) father was never neutered and he ended up with testicular cancer. I spay females for health reasons also.

·
Registered
773 Posts
As far as I'm concerned, there is no reason to not neuter unless a dog is being used for breeding. I had to leave Charlie intact until he finished his Championship, but he's neutered now. He gained no weight, something I've heard used as a (lame) excuse to not have a dog neutered, but he did stop lifting a leg on the furniture. And I'm not as concerned about the health risks that go along with intact dogs.

·
Registered
225 Posts
I choose not to neuter. As you might have seen on some of the picutres
that I have posted. :p My dog is always on a leash when were out, so
the chances for an accident are minimal.

I chose to keep him intact, in case a responsible breeder (not me!) would
like to breed him. Another reason is that I love his demeanor just as it is,
and I really will not take the risk of him changing his personality just a