Basset Hounds Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Okay I'm new to this so bare with me. Okay I adopted a Basset Hound from down south and live in New England. He is a great dog but randomly will attack. He attacked my girlfriends little sister twice while she was walking by him and the cut required stitches. Now I'm starting to think its a dominance issue because if he is laying somewhere on the bed and I try to get him down he will growl at me and show teeth. Just the other day Him and I were laying on the floor and he woke up from a nap and moaned and looking at me out of the corner of his eye and attacked the side of my face ripping me ear open and cutting just to the right of my right eye. I am unsure what to do. Can anyone help me?

·
Super Moderator
5,042 Posts
I'm very sorry, but it is my opinion that a dog that randomly attacks with enough force to require stitches is dangerous and should be euthanized.

·
Registered
1,856 Posts
I had to put one down that started biting, including my son's face. Hardest thing I ever had to do. My step-father actually had to take him, because I just couldn't.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I would just hate to do that. I got him 4 months ago and he is 3 and a half years old and I don't feel that putting him down would be the responsible thing to do. When I signed the adoption papers to me it was like adopting a child and I'm looking for advice on what I can do to curve his behavior I feel like everything is cureable and as dumb as this sounds if he is only biting me I can deal with that and change it but I dont want him biting someone else I would rather have him bite me that way I would think it would be easier to break him of the habbit.

·
Registered
51 Posts
I'm sure there is some training that could be done to eliminate this, would probably be awfully difficult given his age. I would talk to a trainer before I put the poor guy down.