Basset Hounds Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi I am new to this bassett ownership and just wondering where to start? Our puppy 'Dobby the House Hound' (my kids love Harry Potter)

Background is when my daughter was a baby she was allergic to our dog or so we thought, her asthma would only act up around him and it got better when we adopted him out to another family after trying everything else for a year (he was a NewFoundland) she would also get a huge rash on her face when he licked her. We have been very careful over the past few years (about 5) and have not exposed her to any dogs licking her face or any dogs that have a thick undercoat (those seem to be the ones that set her off) or anyone's house that is a true dog house where the dog is allowed to go everywhere thus not giving my daughter a safe clean space if she needs it. Her asthma is under control and when we had her allergy tested (when she was old enough) the test was negative to dog, but I still have my suspicions that certain types of dogs will set her off in certain situations.