Basset Hounds Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Everyone. This is my first time posting on any forums, but I'm needing some advice.
I just rescued a 3yr old basset, Daisy. She is a beauty. Unfortunatly, I don't have much info on her. I do know she has recently had pups. Took her to the vet yesterday....got a shot for worms. Vet said her health is good, just underweight. She weighs 30lbs. She's eating well and hopefully will be putting some weight on now.
Now for needing advice. I'm thinking she is heartbroken missing her babies. She whines all the time.....except when her eyes are closed. I'm thinking the people that bred her, sold off her puppies too soon. I've never seen anything like this. I feel so bad for her and don't know what to do. I have tried consoling her, but nothing is working!!!
Any advice would be greatly appreciated!!!!

·
Registered
92 Posts
I apologize for not having any suggestions for you (have always had males) but wanted to welcome you and say congrats on your new addition! Finally another basset member from AZ!

Chuck & his Mom

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Oh thank you Catherine! What a wonderful idea!
Hey ChucksMom! We are in Glendale! So nice to know there's someone close to home!

·
Super Moderator
5,042 Posts
There have been a whole lot of other changes in her life as well. I'm suspecting she's just generally stressed, and it will probably take a while for her to settle in.

·
Registered
973 Posts
I think you just need to give her time to settle in. Moving and adoption are both very stressful for a dog. She doesn't understand that she is home.

·
Registered
616 Posts
You may think of getting her some puppy shaped toys for her to have as her babies. Something she can carry around and groom. Our old female dog loved her stuffed toys aka babies. It seemed to fill a need for her.

·
Registered
761 Posts