Basset Hounds Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello there:

I am a newbie here.

My fiance and I plan on getting a Basset puppy for ourselves, but he is going to be a single daddy for about a year since I am overseas right now. We have also picked up the name for our boy already; Paragon would be his name and Perry would be his nickname. We expect to get one in February after he returns from a trip to visit me.

We have been visiting this board for a while now and appreciate all the pics you guys have posted. They surely give us big smiles every day. Please keep them coming.

We have a couple of questions that i think some of you can help:

1. We are interested in knowing about having a microchip put in Perry. How costly would it be? would any vet be able to do this procedure?

2. We have heard of pet health insurance. Do any of you know about this? If so, please share the info with us.

Thank you in advance for your time and responses. all is appreciated. :)

·
Registered
73 Posts
Don't have any answers to give....just wanted t say WELCOME ....my fiance and I are also getting a new bassett. Her name is already picked out as well...Sophia, Sophie for short. Congrats in advance on your baby......and keep surfing the board...there is TONS of info on here. :D

·
Registered
284 Posts
hi there

i think it depends on where you live for the prices for the microchips. in the UK i paid about £40 for the chip. and our insurance for £9000 worth of treatment (if they ever need it) in one year is £13 a month for our first year but the renewal letter has come to us today and its £19 for next year! - i will be ringing them today to find out why its gone up so much!!

definately worth getting the insurance though as you never know what might happen.

hope this helps

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
hi there