Basset Hounds Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Since I am new to Bassets and the forums, I thought I would post a pic of Owen and tell you a bit about how I came to own him.

My husband and I had 2 dogs, but they were "my dogs" because i chose them and their breeds. The first being an American Bulldog named Ike we got from a lovely breeder and the next being Rita, an American Pit Bull Terrier, that we took on when she became ill and my brother could not afford vet care. We also have a cockatiel (another one of my brothers pet own failures), a cat and an Eastern Box Turtle.

My husband starts watching Columbo episodes online and falls in love with the Basset. I said NO! Bassets are "nice" dogs, lazy and sweet. Our bully breeds would walk all over one and I would be bored to tears.

My husband finds a Basset sticker and affixes it to my computer monitor so I am looking at it every day. Then he starts a not so subtle campaign by showing me youtube videos of Bassets almost daily. By the end of a year I was researching the breed and then I met my first Basset in person and started looking for a pup. I'm such a sucker!

Last July we drove out to the middle of nowhere to look at a litter. The dogs were healthy and loving, the pups sweet and adorable. Then the breeder notices one missing and tells me about her terror of a pup who is loud and obnoxious and who is very demanding. Said pup comes rounding the corner at top speed, cross checks his littermates out of the way to get to the food dish and I was in LOVE! Between the kids and other pets, a dog needs to be assertive and demanding to thrive here.

On the drive home we named him Owen and he is just awesome. I couldn't ask for a better dog and even the things he does that make me crazy are ok because he is worth it.

I love this picture. Who needs a blanket when you have 3 dogs?

·
Registered
761 Posts