Basset Hounds Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
77 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi
This is my first time here. My 11 yr old Basset Charlie was diganoised with lymphoma about 3 weeks ago. Options were do chemo or steriods. Previous experence with steriods weren't good, and proved to be the same this time. The only hope we have is it really isn't lymphoma as the needle biopsy wasn't conclusive and they wanted to do surgery, but my husband would not allow them to do this. We had another basset with liver cancer and we did surgery and everything possible to save her she was only 3 years old and a week after surgery she died it was very painful for my husband(and the whole family) and he feels if we hadn't let them do surgery she would have lived a while longer than a week.
So now here is our Charlie he seems fine he has summer allergies. Has had for 6 years now.
He was less mobile this winter having a hard time coming up the steps, so he has a ramp now. He has had a few other problems old age gets us all. My husband doesn't want to do chemo, so I agreed to wait and see. I was wondering if anyone else here could advise on what we should watch for. I have days I want to run him to the vet and say do the surgery remove part of the lymphnodes and tell us for sure, but then I know we won't put him through chemo so why. My husband wants to do what is right for Charlie not what is right for us.
We went out to dinner to celebrate our anniversary 28 years and we spent the whole time discussing our 5 pets. My husband commented not once did we bring up our son and daughter their not children anymore but our pets are now.