Basset Hounds Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi I’m the owner of a 1 yr old basset hound. This is my first time owning a basset, and it has been difficult. I love her and wouldn’t ever trade her for the world, but she’s hard to train, and I still haven’t quite potty trained her. I feel so embarrassed.

I hired an in house trainer to help me out, but I told her that although lorelai was smart and caught on quickly, she sometimes refuses to obey commands. Basically only responds when she wants to even though she understands the command. The trainer frowned and just thought it was odd. I wasted a lot of money to help my dog. And I’m almost at square one still.

My worst issue is Lorelai’s refusal to pee outside at times. I would say she has an accident twice a week in the house in the evening. I don’t have a yard so she has to ring the bell to let me know when she needs to go outside to potty. The bell has been in use since she was 3-4 months old. I know she knows how to use it because she does tell me when she needs to go 90% of the time. I feel like her accidents are just being lazy. She will stop during play and then just begin the trickle. When I stopped her and told her to go outside she got upset and nipped at me for trying to make her go outside. I am very sure she knows what the right thing to do is, she just chooses not to. Can someone please offer help? I feel so stupid for not having a fully potty trained dog. We had been working on potty training since she was seven weeks old. I don’t understand why this is an issue and why other people’s dogs are so well behaved and trained.

·
Super Moderator
5,042 Posts
I hired an in house trainer to help me out, but I told her that although lorelai was smart and caught on quickly, she sometimes refuses to obey commands. Basically only responds when she wants to even though she understands the command.