Basset Hounds Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm fairly new to the dog world, having only had my basset for a year. I'm a bit confused with all these different Kennel clubs. I talked to one basset breeder that says that AKC dogs are the only way to go. Another said she'd have nothing more to do with AKC and is now registering her pups with CKC. Is there a difference? Does it really matter? please excuse my ignorance on the subject, I never realized all these clubs existed until recently.
We got our basset as a pup from a friend that just could not handle her. IMO it was more of a personality clash. Recently I've thought about getting her a companion. So I've talked to a few breeders and now I'm more confused than I was going into this. whats the deal? Should I just look at getting a good pet and not care about its registration?
thanks.
Bryan

·
Super Moderator
5,042 Posts
The Continental Kennel Club (not to be confused with the Canadain Kennel Club) is a registry for puppymillers who do not wish to meet the AKC's requirements. As AKC is getting tougher with inspections, DNA testing and revoking privileges, these alternate registries simply require that you pay the fee and VOILA! you have papers to give to unsuspecting puppy buyers.

From the CKC website - rules and regulations
5. If the sire and dam are not registered with another club, or with CKC, the owner /breeder applicant must complete the application, sign it, and have two witnesses sign the application verifying the information on the application.

Meaning if you and two other people say it's purebred, then it is!

You can even register mixed breeds: