Basset Hounds Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone!

I'm new here - I can't believe I haven't found this place before.

I'm a Brit living in OKC who happens to love Basset Hounds. I have a 5 year old girl called Daisy.

In 4 days Daisy will get a new sister (Ethel - another Basset) who will be 7 weeks old. I'm curious if you have any advice on introducing the 2 dogs to each other? Daisy is a typical Basset - extremely sweet and funny. She has never showed any aggressive tendencies at all and gets along with all dogs.

I apologize if the question has been answered somewhere else in the forums - I had a poke around but couldn't find anything.

Thanks in advance!

·
Registered
2,325 Posts
Hi and Welcome!

I am not a behavior expert (we have them here) Just a basset mom.

I had no problem introducing 7 yo Jake to his new baby sister Abby.

I introduced them in our living room which is a good size space so he never was "cornered" by this obnoxious ball of energy. They did fine. We had our occasional growls and snaps when Abby was pushing him too far and wanted to be let alone.

I also made a point to give Jake a little extra attention so he wouldn't feel overshadowed by the attention Abby was getting.

Its been two years and they are still doing great, play together, miss the other and howl when one "gets" to go somewhere alone :)

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Hi and Welcome!

I am not a behavior expert (we have them here) Just a basset mom.

I had no problem introducing 7 yo Jake to his new baby sister Abby.

I introduced them in our living room which is a good size space so he never was "cornered" by this obnoxious ball of energy. They did fine. We had our occasional growls and snaps when Abby was pushing him too far and wanted to be let alone.

I also made a point to give Jake a little extra attention so he wouldn't feel overshadowed by the attention Abby was getting.