Basset Hounds Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
973 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all, yesterday Anabelle jumped off the couch and yelped and was acting terrible and yelping since so I took her in to the vet today. The vet immediately noticed that she wouldn't pick up her head and took x-rays and found that she had intervertebral disc disease. I'm not a medical expert but I guess at a part of the spine in her neck there was calcification.

She had a pain patch put on her, and also is on another pain med and a muscle relaxant.

Anyway, as I understand this is a common problem in low breeds including bassets so I wanted to see if anyone has dealt with this before.

The vet told us to make sure she has steps and ramps to everywhere and that if she has problems getting up, moving, or placing her feet on the ground to immediately take her for emergency vet care.

·
Super Moderator
5,042 Posts
Ramps are a great idea - I have a ramp for the hounds to get on the bed and another for them to get into the van. Unfortunately, I don't have a way to make a ramp for them to come upstairs.
With any type of spinal injury I strongly recommend *strict* crate rest for a minimum of three weeks - especially if they are on pain medication because it makes them feel better than they are and they may do more than they should. The injury needs rest and time to heal properly.
You may want to consider taking her to a chiropractor. Others have had success with acupuncture, but I haven't tried that.

·
Registered
209 Posts