Basset Hounds Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys I need your expert advice AGAIN!!!

Lexie started her period of being on heat saturday evening. so i told my friend at work - who replied "have her injected - it will take it away". now my question is this - is it save?
more than 24 hours have passed - is this a problem?
can we still have her "fixed" after this injection? please forgive my english - obviously my home language is afrikaans.

Many thanks,
Simone.

·
Super Moderator
5,042 Posts
I am not an expert on the subject of preventing heat, but as I understand it the injection/pill needs to be given BEFORE she comes into season. I also think that these shots may possibly lead to other problems.

My suggestion is to simply watch her very carefully and keep her isolated for the next three weeks, then have her spayed once her season is over.

There are also abortion shots if you think she has been bred, but these are also likely to have negative side effects (such as uterine infection).

·
Registered
1,960 Posts
As far as I have read once estrus has begun there isn't anything you can do. Two products I'm aware of Ovo-ban and Checque drops are no longer available in the US except maybe at a compounding pharmacy. I do think it's best not to fool mohter nature. Here is a website with information on the products used to prevent estrus: Estrus Cycle Control

·
Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks guys...

I decided not to give the injection as the vet said it causes cancer etc etc...but wow its not a walk in the park...she gets excited A LOT!!! and then it's really bad...any tips??? I had to clean floors last night at 23:00 and the smell oh man...I love her so - please don't get me wrong. It's just my first girly dog of my own...

·
Registered
773 Posts
My only suggestion is to get through this -- then have her spayed.

·
Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter #6