Basset Hounds Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ruby my 9yr.? old has started to poop & pee while I am at work. There was an old dog that lived in my mobile prior to me moving in here Mar. I thought that it was just marking. Ruby has been fine up to a couple of months ago. I put it down to me being at work all evening so, I was trying to give her the benefit of the doubt. It was once in awhile and now it's every night when I get home, she has either peed on the carpet by my bed or pooped in the addition. I am just beside myself in wondering what to do. Shall I just live with it and put paper down consistently in one place? I could feed her in the morning only and limit the water while I am gone. I read on line that sometimes senior dogs who have been spayed and something to do with their hormone leve. Any suggestions?

·
Registered
1,865 Posts
I'm not an expert, but I would first take her to the vet to be checked out. Spencer (age 12) started leaking urine at night about 6 months or so ago. I knew he wasn't doing it on purpose, as he would always wake me up when he had to go out, but I was starting to find him laying in puddles of urine, sleeping & seemingly unaware of what had happened. The vet couldn't find anything wrong with him to cause it & attributed it to aging & problems with the sphincter muscle. Spencer was prescribed Cystolomine which helps tighten the sphincter muscle, and it has done the trick. He gets a pill every evening & it's rare now that he leaks urine. I'm not sure about the pooping. I haven't had to deal with that -- yet!

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter #3