Basset Hounds Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So... the sire to Georgette's litter is "inbred," I am guessing because he and his mother share the same father. Or would this be considered line breeding?

That's the only repeat within 4 generations.

How would you address this if any buyers are concerned? There is a lot of crap out there about unethical inbreeding when it comes to purebred dogs. The sire's breeder said they bred the parents like that because they have extremely shiny coats and they want to preserve that trait, as it is one thing their bassets are specifically known for.

Sire's inbreeding co-efficients are as follows:
Wright's 25.20%, Hardiman's 19.04%

I'm still learning what inbreeding/ line breeding/ cross breeding mean. I have seen some other posts for a better understanding.

·
Super Moderator
5,042 Posts
LET’S TALK LINEBREEDING

Inbreeding/line breeding itself is neither good nor bad, but it will cement traits into the bloodline whether good or bad. This is why it's best left to an experienced, knowledgeable breeder using quality stock.

Your litter is an outcross. The sire being inbred means he is more likely to throw his traits.

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Cementing traits... that's what I thought. Thanks.

·
Registered
12,926 Posts
COI of the progeny is what is important. there are those in the know that will claim COI is a good measure of the likelihood of unknown adverse recessive genes popping up. Also the Immune system functions much better when it is highly heterogeneous ie low COI. 25.xx and 19 are high COI's

see COI BootCamp (Free!) - The Institute of Canine Biology

The Pox of Popular Sires - The Institute of Canine Biology

A Beginner’s Guide to COI | Dog Breed Health

The average COI last year for basset hounds in the UK was 7.5%

The sire's breeder said they bred the parents like that because they have extremely shiny coats and they want to preserve that trait,