Basset Hounds Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi!
This is my first time posting on this forum and I'm sure it won't be my last.
I've wanted a Bassett Hound for a long time now and one of the girls at work told me of a neighbour of hers who was hoping to find a good home for theirs as circumstances had changed and they weren't able to give him the attention he needed.

I'm picking him up tomorrow and really looking forward to it. I've met him briefly and is a big lump so it will give me a good excuse to go walking. He is 3/4 years old but isn't a thuroughbred - I would say 70% Bassett, not sure what the other mix is.

Is there anything I need to be aware of from the beginning? How often should I feed him and is there anything that generally doesn't agree with them?

Thanks, I'm sure this will be the first of many question sessions from me!

Happy New Year from Ireland.

C

A

·
0 Posts
YEA! We love pictures. I am sure there are lots of things to know. My first would be to love him dearly with lots of hugs!!!. Probably second is they are like very tall 2 year-olds and "counter surf". Please basset proof your place. Good Luck and Congratulations. This site has helped me tremendously with lots of knowlege! yvonne

T

·
0 Posts
Congratulations. The one thing people seem to find basset are most likely to be allergic to is corn. I try to buy food with no corn in it. However, if you can find out what food he's already used to, if he's not having any problems with it, I would keep feeding it.

Happy New Year to you and George, too!

Janet 'n Twinkie.

A

·
0 Posts
One word: Patience. Bassets follow their noses and once they get an idea into their pointy little heads very, very little will persuade them that you might have a better idea. They were bred for tenacity in hunting and that can translate into some real single-mindedness in any and all pursuits.
Have fun. They are wonderful dogs with the right owners.

·
Registered