Basset Hounds Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
209 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok, as some may know, I am new to this Basset Mania thing. Bessie turns 5 weeks on Thursday and I get to visit her. Then only a few more weeks and we get to take her home!

So, on to my question......Drool

From what I read in the forum and see in the several Basset books that I have purchased....Bassets do drool......Ok stop laughing! Like I said, I am a new to the wacky wild world of Bassets. I can't quite get a grip on how much they drool however. When I visit Bessie at the breeder, I do not notice the mom or dad drooling.

Am I in for a Turner and Hooch (1989 Tom Hanks movie) kind of drool??

·
Registered
517 Posts
Hi I'm no expert since Paisley our 3 year old is our first basset but I don't think they drool all the time. At least Paisley dosen't. She will drool when we have something that smells good to her -- like the Sunday roast -- won't leave the kitchen while its in the oven -- gotta guard it in case it escapes but only drools when we are cutting it. She does drool everyday on my foot while I am eating lunch -- not on my husbands foot and never during dinner and only on my right foot at that and not when I'm eating just stinky things. I figure she is peckish around lunch and would like a bite to tide her over until her dinner time and usually she gets a bite of whatever I have. Seems to me that the people who say that bassets are drooley and stink have never owned a basset anyway whats a little drool between you and your best friend???

·
Registered
166 Posts
Drool