Basset Hounds Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
52 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I haven't been here for quite some time but I really need some advice my dog is having some serious behavioural problems. Everytime we go out even if it just to do groceries he gets destructive, he diggs up my whole garden there is nothing left he chews my lawn there is patches that doesn't even grow anymore. The other day he ripped his bed to pieces. What can i do to make it better for him to cope when we leave and better for my finances because i have to replace everything he destroys.

Please help!!! :(

·
Registered
284 Posts
sorry to hear your problems.

how old is monty?

im no expert but maybe getting a companion for him would help?

how about crating him when left alone?

or get him a really good bone to chew that will keep in occupied whilst you pop out for an hour?

or maybe leave him for five minutes at a time to build up his confidence and gradually make the seperation time longer over a period of weeks?

aslo what about really tiring him out before you go out. take him for a real good walk so all he wants to do is sleep when you leave him.

hope some of these ideas might help. im sure you'll get lots of responce to his post to help you.

good luck

·
Registered
52 Posts
Discussion Starter #3