Basset Hounds Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been training my Basset for six months and he's still peeing in the house!! I've successfully trained many dogs to pee on command but this guy isn't getting it. He's a year old (I got him at 6 months) and he's just as bad as he was in the beginning. I've used crate training before and it's always, always worked. I also use major praise when he goes outside. I can't figure this out! Why is this taking soooo long??

·
Registered
21 Posts
We had the exact same problem with one of our dogs, Daisy. We have adopted several dogs throughout the years, in addition to fostering for a basset rescue - never had any trouble pottie training any of them with the traditional monitoring of food/water intake, rewards for eliminating outside, crate training as a last resort, etc. We adopted Daisy from a rescue at about 4 weeks old, and knew better than to expect she would catch on to pottie training any sooner that six months. Well, at a year old she was still soiling the floor (arghhh!!). It wasn't until we adopted her first sibling, Bo, (as she had previously been an only-child to that point so we could devote our time toward raising her), that she finally shaped up. The first time Daisy squatted in the living room floor, Bo looked at her, looked at us, looked back at what Daisy was doing on the living room floor, then put his tail between his legs and slinked over to the far corner of the room, as if to say, "I'm not getting blamed for that!" It was really weird, but after a few days Daisy quit completely quit going in the house. I wish I could ask her what the sudden change of heart was! I can't help but think it had something to do with her seeing Bo's reaction...

I know that doesn't help you out much, but I think what I learned from my experience with Daisy is that sometimes bassets just do things when theyr'e darn good and ready, and not a moment sooner!

·
Registered
2 Posts