Basset Hounds Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First time Basset owner. New puppy 11mos old. Did not want to get her fixed, becuase she's AKC and so cute! I'd love to breed her one day. However, I don't know the first thing about "little girl's." I was wanting information about basset menstrual cycles, etc. My puppy's really showing signs of disturbance during this new "change" in her life. ?? :)

·
Registered
2,319 Posts
I am probably not the best person for the scientific part of doggy cycles... but I am a nurse practitioner and know the human version ;) I have had females- and Sami had several cycles before she was spayed- I do know you need to be very, very, very careful not to let her out of your sight during her heat- Generally they can get pregnant around the midpoint but can occcur on either side- it's about a month worth of messiness. Bassets are hard to keep the little doggy diapers on- We went to boys underwear that was either velroed snug or used a diaper pin... Be aware these do NOT prevent pregnancy!!! While being "cute" can be a fun reason to breed I would recommend a long talk with your vet- It is a lot of work, money, time... and risk to your sweet love. We raised golden retrievers many years ago- had a kennel- the works- but it's a 24 hour thing till the puppies are old enough to move about on their own- Prenatal care- puppy vet trips. Do lots of research before deciding to breed your dog- You have a few years before she's mature enough regardless- but watch out for unexpected visitors in the meantime! Share pictures of your little lady when you can- And welcome to the board-

·
Super Moderator
5,042 Posts
Being a responsible dog breeder

Should I breed my basset hound?
Should I breed my dog?
Should I breed my dog?

Responsible breeding steps

Should I breed my shetland sheepdog?

5. But my Sheltie is AKC registered (has papers)! (And there are a few champions in her pedigree…)