Basset Hounds Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
121 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Louie was on a three week regime of steroids for his itchy skin, he had developed hot spots and his belly looked like he had the measels.

Now that is over and his back is a mess. Big crusty chunks of scaly skin (sorry for being so graphic) I am a nurse, and I have seen this on skin of the elderly in their scalp, and I too have gotten it in a much lesser form.

I use nuetrogena's coal tar shampoo, with great relief from excess oils and itchiness.

Do you think Louie would fare the same? I am looking at Pine tar soap that is for pets dermatitis, and I am thinking this will give him some relief as well.

Every time we go to the vets, which has been not so often this year, thank God (last two years it was monthly)...we walk out of there broke. Last visit for antibiotics and diagnosis (I had the steroids already) was $168!

Anyone else have this problem with super oily coat and itching and scaling??

·
Registered
62 Posts
Jasper had a hot spot on his tail which he would lick and bite and bit all the hair off. It was all red and raw. A friend told me about brewer's yeast tablets. I started giving these to him and they helped a lot. I also put some oil in his diet because this same friend told me that the hot air in winter will dry out their skin and some oil makes a difference. I used a few drops of olive oil right on his food. I do know that too much bathing can cause skin problems and only bathe him every couple of months or so. Don't know if any of this will be helpful, always looking for inexpensive and practical cures.

·
Registered
121 Posts
Discussion Starter #4