Basset Hounds Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts
O

·
0 Posts
I've been doing alot of research on bassets lately. I believe they were bred from Bloodhounds but the shortness was a genetic defect that occurred. Then they started breeding to obtain that particular trait. However, I'm new at this and I could be wrong.

·
Registered
335 Posts
Originally posted by Oscar&Murphy's Mom:
I've been doing alot of research on bassets lately. I believe they were bred from Bloodhounds but the shortness was a genetic defect that occurred. Then they started breeding to obtain that particular trait. However, I'm new at this and I could be wrong.
That's what I've read in more than one source; I don't think anyone really knows for sure where the breed originates from, but I have read this more than once.

Personally, I think that they are half crocodile and half blood-hound. :)

·
Registered
12,938 Posts
for a more definitive history of the basset hound see Basset history on cyberhound

The basset hound is a direct descent of the Basset Artésien Normand there may have been some crossing with the bloodhound to increase bone size

from link above. "In 1892 Millais decided to cross his only basset hound, Nicholas (a heavily linebred dog on Fino de Paris) with a bloodhound.
...What Millais most likely did not realize that he did not just improve the Basset Artésien Normand, he created a new breed: today's basset hound."

the other bit of confussion that results in the quick synopsis of the orgins of the basset hound is this. All scent hounds including bloodhound and a number of french basset breeds are likely decendents of "ST. hubert Hounds" bred in the 7th century.