Basset Hounds Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have just got my hound from a well known breeder. I'm checking into showing him and breeding him twice. He's very young still. Only 2 months old but I'd like some information on both topics. He has 10 generations of champions. His parents are both champions. would he be worth showing and breeding? Also anyone that can give me some tips on training him any information would help. I am new to dog training, showing and breeding. Thanks

·
Registered
1,960 Posts
The best person to ask is the breeder. Most breeders who sell a dog for showing and breeding to a novice often do so on a co-ownership and act as mentors to the "newbie." Although I've owned bassets for over 30 years it wasn't until I bought a dog from someone who "bred to improve the breed" that I learned the history, the health issues, how to train for show, how to grind toe nails with a dremel, and so on and so on. Eighteen years later she is no longer breeding bassets but has become a very good friend-and I'm still learning from her.

I'm sure the breeder will want to evaluate your pup as he get older and you prepare to show him, to determine if indeed he is "show-quality." A lot of changes take place between 8 weeks and 6 months. It can be a rather agonizing time if you have your heart set on a "show dog." No matter how he turns out conformation wise I'm sure he will be the love of your life. Many show dogs are house dogs and pets.

As far as breeding him, you probably want to get his Championship first and then see if anyone is interested. Again I'm sure his breeder can advise you on his prospects as a stud dog.

I'd take him to puppy class as soon as your vet gives the ok. Enjoy-an 8 week old pup is a lot of work but oh so much fun. :)

·
Super Moderator
5,042 Posts