Basset Hounds Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

· Super Moderator
4,082 Posts
I haven't done a lot of breeding with my males, and what was done was usually with help or AI or was done by someone else, so I can't really comment there. I have heard the theory that you should breed a male young once and then let him grow up, but I haven't done it.

Then again, Kermit did his first breeding at two years of age and managed just fine all by himself. Broke the bitch out of her crate, too..... left them in the car for 10-15 minutes and came back to find them tied. :roll:

Now, not like I'm a wildlife expert or anything, but I believe that it's only the top female in a wolf pack that's allowed to breed. In that case, I'd expect she'd be fairly mature to have earned this place. Certainly I won't breed one of my girls before they're two. They certainly seem immature, mentally and physically, before that. To me breeding them younger is like young teens having babies, possible but not a good idea.

[ May 15, 2005, 06:34 PM: Message edited by: Soundtrack ]

· Super Moderator
4,082 Posts
Yes, unsupervised matings between awkward dogs like bassets can easily result in injury to one or both, especially when one of them is inexperienced. And your bitch is way too young to be bred.

Also, pregancy, even for humans, is still a very risky business. There is the potential for pyometra (life-threatening uterine infection), stuck puppies (need a c-section, if you're not there the mom and pups will die), inertia (no contractions, again needs a c-section or the pups will die and decompose and make the mother sick), eclampsia (calcium deficiency, can result in seizures, brain damage and death), mastitis (breast infection) and other risks. I've dealt with all of these except the eclampsia, fortunately I was with them 24/7 from before whelping until the pups were 5 weeks old so I was albe to rush them to the vet right away.