Basset Hounds Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
813 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Can I give George Benadryl? And if so, how much? I never buy it because neither of us humans has allergies, but he apparently does and his scratching is driving him AND us batty. Will Benadryl help?

·
Registered
127 Posts
I wouldn't give any meds without the vet oking it first. Even though I am a nurse and am knowledgable about meds you never know with animals.

·
Registered
494 Posts
Actually, Benadryl is fine to give to a dog. I have given it to Shyla when she got bit and got hives all over her head. I only gave her 1/2 a pill but my vet said that I could give her 1 full pill. My mom's Jack Russell also takes Benadryl everyday for allergies (as told by the vet) and she just buys the over the counter kind.

Prednisone is great too but I was told by the vet tech that it will cause them to drink and pee more.

·
Registered
2,319 Posts
We've used both benadryl and Temeril P for Jake on various occasions- I think the Temaril works the best- but in a pinch the benadryl is OTC- I would ask your vet- We give 25 mg though the vet actually recommends 50- but I'm a coward...

·
Registered
1,960 Posts
No one should give their dog medications, whether prescription, OTC or even herbals without checking with their veterinarian. Also to my knowledge there aren't any veterinarians here so no one is qualified to to recommend medications for someone's dog. And a vet generally wouldn't do it either unless s/he knew the patient.

Yes Benadryl is generally a pretty safe medication. However its use is not appropriate for all dogs.
Precautions and Side Effects:
  While generally safe and effective when prescribed by a veterinarian, diphenhydramine can cause side effects in some animals.
  Diphenhydramine should not be used in animals with known hypersensitivity or allergy to the drug.