Basset Hounds Forum banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to this web site as of this morning. I have a 4 1/2 year old basset hound named Beamer. I have spolied this dog to the point that he "thinks" that he is charge of me. We are working on that ... he knows the difference between good and bad behavior.... he growls when he is on his bed, when it is "bed time" and DARES you to touch him, he charges the gate when my fiances kids are at the house (dont know if I should be isolating him, but he WILL bite the little girl). The kids have been around for the past 3 years, and his behavior is consistent. He has bitten every member in my family. I know that may sound like an oxymoron but he is super sweet when wants to be and so affectionate! He is for the most part happy unitil he gets on his bed at night or when the children come around.
I do not use my hands when discipling him because I know that he can mistake that when you are trying to be friendly.. I typically remove him immediatley from the room, scold him for bad behavior saying "Shame on you!", use a squirt bottle or the fly swatter. I refuse to give up or worse, get rid of him. Can someone please guide me in the right direction? ... I am getting married in 6 months and I would like to stop this madness before they get her and spend every other weekend! I love my dog.

·
Registered
160 Posts
Hi Christie and Beamer, welcome to the board. I have a similar situation with Woofus. He's a 3 year old rescue and I don't know what he's been through. He's a great sweat dog 95% of the time...and then he has his moments. He bit me once and that was when I took charge. I really think the best thing for this situation is to find a good trainer in your area. We are working on just the basics where I take control. For instance--
1- When leaving the house I always make him sit at the door and create an invisible barrier that he won't cross until I tell him "OK"