What things to look out for when you choose a puppy? - Basset Hounds: Basset Hound Dog Forums
Basset.net is the premier Basset Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-22-2018, 03:01 AM   #1 (permalink)

Default What things to look out for when you choose a puppy?

Hi there, newbie here. We are looking to get a basset hound puppy and just wanted to ask, are there any common breed specific issues we should look out for? For example, I know some breeds are more prone to knee problems so you may want to ask the breeder about knee problems in the family tree.

What about training and diet wise? A friend bought a Jack Russell and really struggled with housebreaking for months, then found out that this particular breed is known to be harder to housebreak than most. She said if she knew earlier and read about it, she may have approached it slightly differently.

We could be just overthinking things, but any insights about this particular breed would be very much appreciated !
furbaby is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-22-2018, 06:01 AM   #2 (permalink)

Default Buying a puppy Basset

The answers to your questions would fill a book - and there are a number of good books on the breed available - often second hand on Amazon. But basically you should begin by finding a good reputable and knowledgeable breeder, usually best via the Breed Club where you are (Breed Clubs have Codes of Ethics which should rule out a BYB!!). If you make an appointment to go visit, most breeders should be prepared to sit with you and answer all your questions, show you their adults (look at them because puppies, especially for me, Basset puppies are ALL aaaah must haves). We all want our puppies to go to the best possible homes and for the homing to work.

Just be warned, once you have one, it won't stop there

Oh and there are tests for Bassets, health-wise, but in general Bassets..