Eating issues - Basset Hounds: Basset Hound Dog Forums
Basset.net is the premier Basset Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-27-2017, 06:19 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default Eating issues

I'm new to basset hounds. My Noelani is just over 14 weeks old. Had some health issues to start with. The breeding people, I don't want to say breeders, because they were not legitimate breeders. They had the pups on puppy chow. She didn't have a problem eating it but she wasn't gaining any weight. So I'm in the process of switching her to Blue puppy food. She eats three times a day and sometimes a small amount just before bed plus her treats. I also decided to switch her because she kept eating her poop. so we are about a week into the switch. She stopped eating her poop but now she does not want to eat her midday food. I will save it for her for dinner. She did want a dog biscuit but I don't want to start that. so does anybody think that it's because she's getting the nutrients she needs now and won't need as much food? She's been getting about 3 cups of food a day total with treats and all. Three quarters three times a day. Then about 1/3 - 1/2 just before bed. She is now at 19 pounds. Started out at 9 pounds when I got her at almost 9 weeks old. She was 18 lbs a week ago. She was looking very Ribby and sucked in. But is looking much better now. She came to me with very bad roundworms, giardia, and a UTI. She does not have any of those anymore after all of the vet trips I've made. I'm hoping that somebody thinks that she's just getting better food and that's why she doesn't want her lunch. she always cries when she's hungry and she's not doing that. She is still confined to my yard only and I do not ever put her down anywhere, at the Vets either. As I was not sure she got all of her vaccines when they were due since you was sick when I got her and they had not worned her correctly. Plus no vet record, just thier word they ga