My basset won't stop sniffing my daughter - Basset Hounds: Basset Hound Dog Forums
Basset.net is the premier Basset Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-19-2017, 12:10 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default My basset won't stop sniffing my daughter

Hi guys I'm new to the fourm. I have a 18 month old male basset called cooper . He has been a handful past little while mostly with me bit of a love hate relationship going on . That aside he won't stop either going for the kids feet or sniffing at my daughters bottom . This has gone on from day one . I have tried everything being nice , shakers , anything to deter him but it doesn't work . He is not aggressive when he does it . I just need him to stop it . Any help would be great .
Stevie78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-20-2017, 07:59 AM   #2 (permalink)

Send a message via Yahoo to Mikey T

so you intend to stop a dog from being a dog . LOL good luck with that.

Why Do Dogs Like To Smell Butts So Much? | IFLScience
""Bacon is to people as butts are to dogs.""

ClickerSolutions Training Articles --
Biting Pant Legs & Ankles

Chasing your moving feet and biting ankles and pantslegs is a 100% natural dog behavior! But it's not much fun for you. Let's apply the four steps of problem-solving to find a solution:

1. Identify the specific problem. Here, biting ankles and pants legs.

2. Define what you want the puppy to do instead. The answer to this question is *never* "Stop doing the problem behavior." You could suppress the behavior, and the dog could choose to do something even worse! Save yourself a ton of frustration -- and your dog a ton of confusion -- and choose a preferred behavior. In this instance, I'd say, "Walk nicely next to me."

3. Manage the situation so the undesired behavior becomes unreinforcing or impossible. Why is the puppy doing it? Because it's natural to chase and bite moving things.