Female - Hanging teats - Basset Hounds: Basset Hound Dog Forums
Basset.net is the premier Basset Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-18-2018, 09:46 AM   #1 (permalink)

Default Female - Hanging teats

***Please forgive my lack of terminology and such***

I have a female basset, she turned 1 in April.

About 2-3 months ago I noticed that her teats started to hang a little as if she was pregnant. Not too much but enough to be noticed. The last ones, near her rear, hang the most and are..."chubby" like if they had milk.

Im no dog expert so I dont know what to look for or feel for exactly, so I'm asking the Basset community to help me out here.

Shes be normal. Nothing strange about her. I will say the following...

Her first heat was in October 2017....roughly 6 months after she was born. I never saw any spotting but I could see she was swollen and had that distinctive smell. Also licking a lot. Also my male basset chasing her around and licking her like his last meal.

Then it was over. Strange part is, her next heat should have been in April again...but it came in like February. This time, LOTS of spotting. My male trying to mount her day and night. He was CRAZY.

I kept her separated. All good. watched over her, all well. Finally passed, all is good.

I dont understand why her teats are hanging though. Or why the back ones look like they have a little milk in them.

Is this normal?

I give them meals 3x times a day....

Morning
Afternoon
Evening (very small amount to curb their never ending hunger)

Anyway ideas? Thank you all!
noloc45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-18-2018, 10:52 AM   #2 (permalink)

Send a message via Yahoo to Mikey T

false pregnancy. It is the way a dogs estrus works. the Hormone act like they are pregnant even when they are not

False Pregnancy (Pseudocyesis) in Dogs
Mikey T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2018, 03:13 AM   #3 (permalink)