Training a Basset - Basset Hounds: Basset Hound Dog Forums
Basset.net is the premier Basset Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-19-2017, 03:29 AM   #1 (permalink)

Default Training a Basset

Hi everyone.
I am new to Bassets but have owned many dogs over the years.
I have a six month old basset Winnie, who is totally amazing and naughty. Whenever I talk to Basset owners they tell me you can't train a basset in the same way you train other dogs.
But no one actually tells you why or more importantly how!
We are still working on the house training, progress is being made and I am sure we just need to stick at it. So I am not too bothered with that.
Winnie will sit, lay down, look, and give her paw on request. It took a few minuets each to teach these with treats. Well "look" took a lot longer and we are still working on it.
My main problem is getting her to focus, she can be really wild at times. Her favourite game is stealing things to chew and making you chase her to get them back. Yes I know stop chasing her and she will stop running.... but then she destroys what she got.
I guess most of it is just puppy stuff. But can someone tell me the difference between training Bassets and other dogs !!!!!
Please.

Last edited by lesley; 03-19-2017 at 03:33 AM. Reason: add a photo
lesley is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-19-2017, 03:39 AM   #2 (permalink)

Training a Basset-winnie-march17sm.jpg
Old 03-19-2017, 09:43 AM   #3 (permalink)

Default training

I've had dogs all my life, and I'm as old as dirt.

all dogs are as different as people, dog breeds do have bred in traits that you need to know. you could line up 100 dog trainers/owners and ask them this question, and you will get 100 different answers. here is my 2 cents.

train a dog/pup to respond to these 3 commands and when they have mastered them, any other training will fall into place.

NO
come to call
GOOD dog