Has anyone seen this on a basset before: - Basset Hounds: Basset Hound Dog Forums
Basset.net is the premier Basset Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-19-2012, 08:55 AM   #1 (permalink)

Default Has anyone seen this on a basset before:

She was on AntiB's for 3 weeks due to yeast infection of the skin. (Therios 750mg). Then the DAY after she came off the AntiB's her fur started falling out . We have been back to the vets and she is BACK on the antiB's and I have been told to try and pull and lose fur out, which is difficult as this area is really hurting her

I was hoping someone might have an idea what it is.

The vet definately said pull out any lose hairs as she said it MIGHT stop the spread of infection (sorry should have put it in my main post but as many know I'm not that good at explaining myself). She's not scratching or licking it. She is only crying (or trying to pull away) when the main bit is touched. She did have cream for the area but it wasn't working that why she is on antiB's and no need for a collar as she isn't that bothered by it. Have just spoken to a veterinary nurse and she has said to phone normal vet in the morning but in the mean time use a soft brush or use just water, and continue with antiB's and also bathe once a day in the malaseb not with hibiscrub as if that isn't rinsed off properly it could cause irritation.

Thankyou all for your replys hopefully get some more advice tomorrow off the vet and she is seeing the vet on thursday evening again. But it just seems to be getting sorer (not as much fur coming out in clumps, just little bits now but the area has got worse). feel so sorry for my little girl
Trixiemixy is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-19-2012, 09:47 AM   #2 (permalink)

omg that looks like it hurts
Esther is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2012, 10:48 AM   #3 (permalink)