Normal Weight - Basset Hounds: Basset Hound Dog Forums
Basset.net is the premier Basset Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-02-2005, 01:23 AM   #1 (permalink)

Default Normal Weight

I have a 6 month old, he is 35 pounds. I have tried to find out what is the normal wieght for a male basset at that age, if anyone has any info please pass it along.
Jrod867 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-02-2005, 10:36 AM   #2 (permalink)
Twinkie's Mum

Default Re: Normal Weight

Hi Jerod: I'm not an expert in basset pups, but from what I have read on the boards here, I don't think your puppy's weight is beyond the limits. Some of these dogs get pretty heavy. If your vet isn't worried, I think you're ok.

I'm also sure that you'll get some more responses from the folks on here who know better than I. Keep checking back!
Old 07-02-2005, 03:30 PM   #3 (permalink)

Our nine month old female is around 35 lbs, so I think a six month old male at that weight would not be too far off. Keep an eye on his weight. The rule seems to be that you should be able to feel, but not see, his ribs. Watch out for him getting too overweight, because it is more likely that he will suffer joint and back problems as he gets older (and other stuff as well, I'm sure!!). Having said that, fully grown weights seem to vary a lot within the norm, depending on the build of the dog. So, a full grown male could weigh between 50-75lbs and probably be a healthy weight.

I'm sure others will have more info for you, I'm a pretty amateur basset owner!
Old 07-22-2005, 11:51 AM   #4 (permalink)

When I got my pup last month he was about 7mths old and weighed in at 44lbs. YET the vet said he was too thin under his ribcage, not emaciated she said but you could surely feel the ribs and the hollow under it.