Help with breeding and showing - Basset Hounds: Basset Hound Dog Forums
Basset.net is the premier Basset Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-23-2000, 08:46 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default Help with breeding and showing

I'm looking for some advice! I currently have two bassets. One five year old male (neutered) and a nine year old female (rescue dog, spayed). I'm a vet tech with ten years experience and a trainer with five years. For some time I wanted to get into showing and eventually breeding bassets. I've done my research and waited until I was financially able. Well, I'm ready. Can anyone give me some help? I've emailed a few breeders and everyone said that they don't sell dogs for breeding. I understand that. I'm not going into this lightly. I won't be a backyard breeder. I plan on buying a pup, female, train and show her and then eventually breed her to a stud. I would appreciate any advice any one is willing to give me. Thank you. Melissa

------------------
bassetbabies is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-23-2000, 09:12 PM   #2 (permalink)

Default Re: Help with breeding and showing

You didn't mention whether you have been attending dog shows; if so, do you have some knowledge of various lines from your area? Do you know what you like in a basset and whose bassets you like? You will need to spend some time getting to know basset exhibitors and breeders in your area to learn more about the breed and to possibly find yourself a mentor.