Basset Hounds Forum banner

Struggling with training, help!

4K views 18 replies 16 participants last post by  Vectisvagrant 
#1 ·
My Bassett Oscar is 14 weeks old now, we've had him since he was 7 week old. The first week or two we were really easy going with him as he was getting settled in. Now he doesn't seem to be getting the hang of house training, one day he does really well and we think he's got it, the next he doesn't even attempt to let us know when he needs to pee or poop. If we catch him in the act we lead him straight outside but he's just not getting it. Is he still too young and at an age that he can't hold it or should he have got it by now? Any help or advise would be great. Thanks

Sent from my iPhone using Petguide.com Free App

#2 ·
First and foremost... Oscar is such a cutie!!!

Second, potty training. I am not an expert (we have lots of them here) but here is my "take" on it...

Don't "wait" for Oscar to tell you it is "time". Take him out very frequently. I take my pup out the moment she wakes from a nap, right after or in the middle of play, right after a meal. I always have treat in my pocket or hand so when she goes outside it is "Mardi Gras!" If the neighbors are watching, I probably look like a lunatic. Lots of praise "Good Girl! Good Girl Ellie!" I clap, I rub and pet and give her a cookie.

I also have an older hound (Jake, 13 yo) who will ask to go out. I know what he wants but I still say "wanna go outside and be a good girl" (he had a big sister, doesn't know the difference!) and Ellie is catching on, she goes out then too whether she needed to or not. If she goes.... it is party time again!

I always reward them for going outside. We have a "cookie jar" and Jake immediately runs to it after going outside.

This method is working well for me.